Tennessee real estate licensing
Tennessee Affiliate Broker License requirements
A practical, source-checked guide to qualifying, passing the exam, applying, and keeping this license active.
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Verified · RE License Guide Editorial Desk
- Required education
- 60-hour principles/fundamentals before the exam; 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before issuance (90 total)
- Exam fee
- $63
- Published fees
- $63
- Typical timeline
- 60-hour course plus PSI seating plus 30-hour Course for New Affiliates plus IdentoGO plus CORE processing
What to know first
Tennessee does not issue a salesperson license. The entry title is affiliate broker. If you look for a "Tennessee salesperson" license, you may file the wrong application and miss the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates that TREC requires before the license issues. TREC's Affiliate Broker page (tn.gov/commerce/regboards/trec/license/license-how-to/affiliate-broker.html) sets out the hours: (1) complete sixty (60) hours of real estate education in real estate principles/fundamentals before taking the examination — you may not register for the examination until the school has provided PSI with proof that the education has been completed; the school will also provide a certificate or letter of course completion to submit with the application; (2) complete the 30-hour "Course for New Affiliates" and include a letter or certificate of completion with your application. T.C.A. §62-13-303(b)(2) and Rule 1260-05-.03 set this 90-hour split. If you pass PSI after the 60 hours but skip the 30-hour course, CORE will not issue your license.
PSI's Tennessee Real Estate Commission Candidate Information Bulletin (test-takers.psiexams.com/tnre; (855) 340-3710; bulletin 511, Updated 7/1/2025) governs the exam, and TREC's own PSI page links it. Examination fees: Affiliate Broker Full $63.00, State Only $26.00, National Only $37.00; the same amounts apply to Real Estate Broker; Timeshare Salesperson and Acquisition Agent is $42.00. Registration fees are not refundable or transferable, and the exam fee is valid for one year. The Affiliate Broker exam has a national portion of 80 questions (80 points) in 160 minutes and a state portion of 40 questions (40 points) in 80 minutes. Passing scores are 56 (70%) on the national portion and 28 (70%) on the state portion. PSI may include 5 to 10 experimental questions; they are not scored but count against your exam time. TREC's PSI page lists the same $63 / $26 (80 mins.) / $37 (160 mins.) fees and states that a passing score on one section is valid for two (2) retakes of the failed section or one (1) year, whichever comes first.
Bulletin 511 (Updated 7/1/2025) tells affiliate-broker candidates to apply at core.tn.gov within one year of passing the examinations, and says the application is only valid for 12 months from the exam date. TREC's Broker page uses the same one-year language; the Affiliate Broker page does not state a deadline. Older school blogs and an older tn.gov-hosted PSI-Bulletin.pdf still give a six-month apply window for affiliates; this guide follows bulletin 511, the version TREC's PSI page currently links. The CORE application fee is $91 (Affiliate Broker and Fees pages). The Affiliate Broker page lists these required exhibits: the PSI Examination Application obtained at the testing center and signed by your Principal Broker; proof of errors and omissions insurance; proof of high school graduation; the Eligibility for Entitlements Verification form; and your electronic fingerprinting receipt with ORI TN920784Z. The fingerprint service code is 28TZ99, which is specific to TREC (Kentucky and Georgia use different codes). Tennessee also differs from Virginia: the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates must be completed before the license issues, unlike Virginia's year-one post-license education, and the entry title is affiliate broker.
Your path to the license
Follow these steps in order. Deadlines and affiliation requirements can make a passed exam unusable if they are missed.
-
Complete 60-hour principles/fundamentals at a TREC-approved school
The school posts your eligibility to PSI and gives you a certificate for CORE. You may not register yourself first (TREC Affiliate Broker page and bulletin 511).
-
Pass the PSI exam ($63): national 80 questions in 160 minutes (pass 56) and Tennessee 40 questions in 80 minutes (pass 28), or $37 / $26 by portion
You need 70% on each portion (bulletin 511, Updated 7/1/2025). Do not pay the $39 some school flyers list. A passed portion stays valid for two retakes or one year.
-
Complete the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates, IdentoGO fingerprints (28TZ99, ORI TN920784Z), E&O, and your Principal Broker's signature
The 30-hour course comes before issuance, not after. All of these are CORE exhibits, and missing any one delays your license.
-
Apply at core.tn.gov within one year of passing (bulletin 511), $91
After licensing, complete 16 hours of CE each two-year renewal (6-hour TREC CORE + 10 elective), reported through CE Broker. Renewal is $75. Late fees are $50/month for the first 120 days, then $100/month to 365 days. After one year expired, you must retest and reapply.
How long the 90-hour course takes
Coursework is usually the longest step you control. Weeks below are classroom or online hours only; add application processing, fingerprint clearance, and exam scheduling from the roadmap above.
- Part-time
- 9 weeksabout 10 hrs/week
- Steady
- 5 weeksabout 20 hrs/week
- Full-time
- 3 weeksabout 40 hrs/week
Overall estimate from our source review: 60-hour course plus PSI seating plus 30-hour Course for New Affiliates plus IdentoGO plus CORE processing. Bulletin 511 gives you one year from passing to apply. Becoming a broker later takes 36 months plus TREC's ~4-week eligibility review.
Education and eligibility
- Minimum age
- 18 years old
- Identification
- A Social Security number is required. An ITIN is not confirmed as a substitute.
- Residency and identification
- The bulletin's qualifying questions include "Are you at least 18 years of age?" Tennessee residency is not independently required. Nonresident candidates seeking a Tennessee resident license must meet the same educational criteria as residents and must be affiliated with a firm licensed to operate in Tennessee with a principal broker licensed in TN (bulletin). Commission staff enter out-of-state candidates into PSI after a CORE request (TREC PSI page; [email protected]); the school cannot always post them. Proof of high school graduation or equivalent is a TREC exhibit. Currently licensed out-of-state candidates with proof of passing a national testing-company written exam may have the national section waived (bulletin Worksheet A path).
- Qualifying education
- TREC's Affiliate Broker page and PSI bulletin 511: individuals seeking an affiliate broker license must complete a total of 90 hours of real estate education. Sixty (60) of those hours must cover real estate principles/fundamentals and must be completed in order to qualify to take the licensing exam with PSI. The remaining 30-hour Course for New Affiliates must be completed before a license will be issued (T.C.A. §62-13-303(b)(2); Rule 1260-05-.03). The school sends your eligibility electronically to PSI and gives you a certificate for your CORE application. The 30-hour course must be finished before issuance; it is not like Virginia's first-term post-license education, and it does not replace the later 16-hour, 2-year CE (6-hour TREC CORE + 10 elective via CE Broker). Pre-license courses shall not be used for continuing education (TREC Education Courses page). A Virginia 60-hour Principles certificate does not count toward these 60 hours unless TREC's out-of-state worksheet says so.
- Education or filing deadline
- Bulletin 511: apply at core.tn.gov within one year of passing; the application is only valid for 12 months from the exam date. The exam fee itself is valid one year from payment. A passed portion is valid for two retakes of the failed section or one year, whichever comes first (TREC PSI page and bulletin). If either deadline passes, you must test again. After issuance, you complete 16 hours of CE each two-year renewal, including the 6-hour TREC CORE course.
- Character review
- The bulletin's qualifying questions plus Rule 1260-01-.01(4): no person shall be eligible for examination or be considered for licensure unless two (2) years have passed from the date of expiration of probation, parole or conviction, or from the date of release from incarceration, whichever is later. This restriction applies to all felonies, and to misdemeanors which involve the theft of money, services, or property. Disclose convictions; failing to disclose is disqualifying on its own. Disciplinary sanctions by any occupational licensing body are also a qualifying question. Send documentation to TREC with your application, not to PSI or the test center.
- Background process
- IdentoGO service code 28TZ99 / ORI TN920784Z. Submit the receipt with the CORE application. The out-of-state card-scan is the published alternative, not a waiver. Fingerprints are not required to sit for PSI but are required for issuance. Currently active Tennessee affiliates upgrading to broker do not need new prints (bulletin).
- Experience
- No licensed experience is required for the affiliate-broker license, but you must have a Principal Broker to practice. The broker license is a separate, later application: 36 months actively licensed if you became an affiliate after May 12, 1988 (24 months if licensed on or before that date, or 24 months with a baccalaureate major in real estate), plus 120 hours including 30-hour Office/Broker Management, with TREC pre-approval before PSI.
- Broker affiliation
- An affiliate broker practices under a Principal Broker. Per TREC's Affiliate Broker page, the PSI Examination Application obtained at the testing center must be signed by that Principal Broker. Firm licensure is a separate TREC license ($90 initial firm on the Fees page). Transfer to a new firm costs $25. A Principal Broker's release of an affiliated licensee has no fee. E&O is required for issuance. Unlicensed assistants and team advertising are tested on the state exam.
Documents to prepare
- 60-hour principles/fundamentals certificate (the school also posts eligibility to PSI)
- 30-hour Course for New Affiliates certificate (before issuance)
- Passing PSI scores: national 80 questions in 160 min (pass 56) and Tennessee 40 questions in 80 min (pass 28), or portion retakes at $37 / $26
- PSI Examination Application signed by the Principal Broker
- Proof of E&O
- Proof of high school graduation
- IdentoGO receipt, ORI TN920784Z, service code 28TZ99
- Eligibility for Entitlements Verification form
- CORE application within 12 months of the exam date, $91
The licensing exam
Source: PSI Tennessee Candidate Information Bulletin 511, Updated 7/1/2025 (test-takers.psiexams.com/tnre; (855) 340-3710). Your school sends your eligibility electronically to PSI; if PSI does not have your record, contact the education provider. Affiliate Broker National: 80 items (80 points) in 160 minutes, pass 56 (70%). State: 40 items (40 points) in 80 minutes, pass 28 (70%). The full sitting is $63; national-only is $37 (160 minutes); state-only is $26 (80 minutes), per TREC's PSI page and the bulletin. Experimental questions (5–10) count against your time. National outline (affiliate-broker percentages in the bulletin): Property Ownership 10%, Land Use 5%, Valuation 8%, Financing 10%, Contracts 19%, Agency 13%, Disclosures 7%, Property Management 3%, Transfer 6%, Practice 12%, Calculations 7%. Tennessee state outline (affiliate-broker item counts): Duties and Powers of Real Estate Commission 4; Licensing Requirements 4 (including E&O); Advertising and Marketing 7 (owner/agent, For Sale signs, team, internet, social media, gifts and prizes); Broker/Affiliate Relationships 5; Handling of Documents and Record Keeping 4; Handling of Trust/Escrow Funds 4; Other Improper Activities and Consumer Protection 3; Agency and Disclosure Issues 6 (designated agents, facilitators, dual agency); Special Areas of Practice 3 (timeshare, property management, commercial/industrial). Arrive 30 minutes early with a valid state-issued photo ID matching the legal name on the registration. Your score appears on screen; if you fail, you receive an emailed report with diagnostics. After the second attempt, you must wait thirty (30) days between any subsequent failed exams (bulletin; this does not apply to timeshare/acquisition exams). Your Principal Broker must sign the PSI application obtained at the testing center.
PSI Services LLC (test-takers.psiexams.com/tnre; (855) 340-3710; CIB bulletin 511, Updated 7/1/2025). Your school uploads your eligibility. Each portion is scored independently, and you need 70% on each. Per TREC's PSI page and the bulletin: full $63, state-only $26 (80 min), national-only $37 (160 min). · Fee: $63
| Part | Questions | Minutes | Pass |
|---|---|---|---|
| Affiliate Broker National | 80 | 160 | 70% |
| Affiliate Broker Tennessee State | 40 | 80 | 70% |
Scoring details from the candidate handbook
- Affiliate Broker National: 80 items (80 points) in 160 minutes (bulletin 511 Examination Summary Table, Updated 7/1/2025; national-only time also on TREC's PSI page). Pass 56 (70%). National-only retake $37. Contracts 19%, agency 13%. Experimental questions (5–10) count against your time. Full combined sitting $63
- Affiliate Broker Tennessee State: 40 items (40 points) in 80 minutes (bulletin table and TREC's PSI page). Pass 28 (70%). Item counts: Commission 4, licensing 4 (including E&O), advertising 7, broker/affiliate relationships 5, documents 4, trust/escrow 4, consumer protection 3, agency/disclosure 6 (designated, facilitator, dual), special practice 3. State-only retake $26. A passed portion stays valid for two retakes or one year, whichever comes first
Per TREC's PSI page and bulletin 511: full $63, state-only $26 (80 mins.), national-only $37 (160 mins.). The exam fee is valid one year and is not refundable or transferable. A passing score on one section is valid for two (2) retakes of the failed section or one (1) year, whichever comes first. After a first fail, you may retake as soon as you want (you cannot schedule until the next day). After the second attempt, wait 30 days between subsequent failed exams. Apply at CORE within one year of passing (bulletin 511). Some schools quote $39, but that is not the Commission's fee. Cancel at least 2 days ahead or forfeit the fee (TREC PSI page).
What to study
-
60-hour Tennessee principles/fundamentals plus 30-hour Course for New Affiliates
TREC-approved provider (TREC's Approved Pre-Licensing Courses for Affiliate Brokers list)
The school posts PSI eligibility for the 60 hours. The 30-hour course is a CORE exhibit, not first-year CE.
-
PSI bulletin 511 (Updated 7/1/2025) — 80 questions in 160 min, pass 56; 40 questions in 80 min, pass 28
PSI / TREC
The state outline covers E&O, designated/facilitator/dual agency, team advertising, gifts and prizes, and trust timing. Fees: full $63 / $37 / $26. Apply within one year of passing.
-
T.C.A. Title 62 Chapter 13 and Rule 1260-05-.03 / 1260-01-.01(4)
Tennessee
90-hour split, two-year criminal-wait rule, fingerprints under §62-13-303(l).
-
TREC CORE course (6 hours) and CE Broker
TREC-approved CORE providers
Mandatory each two-year cycle after issuance. Separate from the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates and from NAR ethics.
-
Modern Real Estate Practice / Mastering Real Estate Math (latest edition)
Dearborn (for the 80-question national portion)
Contracts 19%, agency 13%, calculations 7%.
Application costs
These are commission or testing-vendor amounts we can cite. School tuition and optional preparation products are private-market prices.
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $91 |
| Examination | $63 |
| Initial license | $91 |
| Renewal (every 2 years) | $75 |
TREC Fees page: Initial Affiliate $91; Broker upgrade from Affiliate $91; Licensee & Firm Renewal every 2 years $75; Initial Firm $90; Transfer to New Firm $25; Change of Status Retired to Active or Active to Retired $25; License History $25; Late Renewal $50/month first 120 days, $100/month 121 to 365 days; Continuing Education Penalty $50/month; E&O lapse penalty minimum $200. The application and initialLicense amounts here are the same single $91 CORE fee, not two charges. PSI: full $63 / state $26 / national $37 (TREC PSI page and bulletin 511). IdentoGO's vendor charge is separate and not listed on the Fees page. The E&O premium is a policy you buy, not a TREC fee. Timeshare licenses have different fees ($91 salesperson / $750 firm / $500 renewal).
Published state fees
$245
Application, exam, initial-license, and fingerprint amounts cited above. Excludes school tuition, association dues, and MLS fees.
| Commission | Tennessee Real Estate Commission (Department of Commerce and Insurance) TREC (615) 741-2273 or (800) 342-4031. Department main (615) 741-2241. [email protected]. PSI examinations (855) 340-3710. IdentoGO (855) 266-2937. T.C.A. Title 62, Chapter 13 (including §62-13-303 for hours and fingerprints, and §62-13-303(h) for post-broker education). Rule 1260-05-.03 (90-hour split). Rule 1260-01-.01(4) (two-year wait after probation, parole, conviction or incarceration for felonies and theft misdemeanors). Sources: TREC's Affiliate Broker, Broker, PSI & Exam Information, and Fees pages, and PSI's Tennessee Real Estate Commission Candidate Information Bulletin at test-takers.psiexams.com/tnre (bulletin 511, Updated 7/1/2025; PDF dated 8/26/2026), which TREC's own PSI page links. Applications go through CORE at core.tn.gov. CE Broker is the official CE tracker. |
|---|---|
| Pre-licensing | 60-hour principles/fundamentals before the exam; 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before issuance (90 total) TREC's Affiliate Broker page and PSI bulletin 511: individuals seeking an affiliate broker license must complete a total of 90 hours of real estate education. Sixty (60) of those hours must cover real estate principles/fundamentals and must be completed in order to qualify to take the licensing exam with PSI. The remaining 30-hour Course for New Affiliates must be completed before a license will be issued (T.C.A. §62-13-303(b)(2); Rule 1260-05-.03). The school sends your eligibility electronically to PSI and gives you a certificate for your CORE application. The 30-hour course must be finished before issuance; it is not like Virginia's first-term post-license education, and it does not replace the later 16-hour, 2-year CE (6-hour TREC CORE + 10 elective via CE Broker). Pre-license courses shall not be used for continuing education (TREC Education Courses page). A Virginia 60-hour Principles certificate does not count toward these 60 hours unless TREC's out-of-state worksheet says so. Bulletin 511: apply at core.tn.gov within one year of passing; the application is only valid for 12 months from the exam date. The exam fee itself is valid one year from payment. A passed portion is valid for two retakes of the failed section or one year, whichever comes first (TREC PSI page and bulletin). If either deadline passes, you must test again. After issuance, you complete 16 hours of CE each two-year renewal, including the 6-hour TREC CORE course. |
| Sponsoring broker | An affiliate broker practices under a Principal Broker. Per TREC's Affiliate Broker page, the PSI Examination Application obtained at the testing center must be signed by that Principal Broker. Firm licensure is a separate TREC license ($90 initial firm on the Fees page). Transfer to a new firm costs $25. A Principal Broker's release of an affiliated licensee has no fee. E&O is required for issuance. Unlicensed assistants and team advertising are tested on the state exam. |
| Fingerprints | TREC's Affiliate Broker page: use Service Code 28TZ99 (Real Estate Commission), and submit the receipt and ORI# TN920784Z with the application. In-state applicants schedule at identogo.com or (855) 266-2937; IdentoGO transmits results to TBI and FBI. Out-of-state applicants who cannot reach an IdentoGO location use IdentoGO's non-resident card-scan conversion. Per the bulletin, fingerprints are required for all initial applications (T.C.A. §62-13-303(l)); they are NOT a requirement for testing, but they are a requirement for the license. Fingerprints are NOT required of affiliate brokers who test and upgrade to broker. TREC's Fees page does not list an IdentoGO fee. Fingerprinting is done through IdentoGO, not at PSI, and Kentucky codes do not apply. |
| CE / renewal | Per TREC's Education Courses page, CE Broker FAQs, and broker-renewal support article: 16 hours per two-year renewal — the 6-hour mandatory TREC CORE course plus 10 elective hours. Instructors submit hours to CE Broker; sponsors have 10 working days to upload. Pre-license courses shall not be used for CE. TREC Core is mandatory to renew; NAR Code of Ethics is a local-board requirement, not a TREC one. In retired status, the 16 hours are not required to renew, but they are required to return to active (TREC 1 form, $25 status change, current E&O, firm affiliation). Renew through CORE (core.tn.gov). TREC Fees page: Late Renewal $50/month first 120 days, $100/month 121 to 365 days. CE penalty $50/month. After one year, retest and reapply. TREC support articles describe a 60-day expired grace period. Check CORE before paying a reinstatement amount quoted by a third party. |
| Recovery fund | Tennessee Real Estate Education and Recovery Account, administered in connection with TREC. It is a statutory consumer-protection and education account. It is not E&O (which TREC separately requires as a CORE exhibit) and not Virginia's Transaction Recovery Fund. TREC's Fees page does not list a separate recovery-fund charge on the $91 row; check TREC's pages for current assessment rules. The E&O lapse penalty is a minimum of $200 (Fees page). |
Mistakes that delay applicants
-
Calling it a salesperson license
Tennessee's entry title is affiliate broker. Using neighboring states' titles will send you to the wrong CORE application.
-
Sitting for PSI before the school posts your 60 hours
TREC's Affiliate Broker page: you may not register until the provider has given PSI proof of principles completion.
-
Treating the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates as first-year CE
It is required before issuance. CE is 16 hours, including the 6-hour TREC CORE, after you are licensed. Virginia's post-license education is under a different statute.
-
Paying $39 because a school flyer said so
TREC's fee table is $63 / $26 / $37, and bulletin 511 matches.
-
Following a six-month apply window from an old blog when bulletin 511 says one year
This guide follows the bulletin TREC currently links (Updated 7/1/2025): one year, or 12 months from the exam date. Check CORE in case TREC later adds a shorter deadline to the Affiliate Broker page.
-
Skipping E&O because the recovery account exists
TREC requires an E&O policy for issuance. The lapse penalty is a minimum of $200. The Education and Recovery Account is a separate statutory fund.
-
Using the wrong IdentoGO code
Use 28TZ99 and ORI TN920784Z. Kentucky and Georgia codes will not post to TREC.
-
Forgetting the Principal Broker signature on the PSI application from the test center
TREC's Affiliate Broker page lists it as a required exhibit, and CORE will not process your application without it.
-
Treating designated agency, facilitator, or gifts-and-prizes as minor topics
They are scored Tennessee state items, and the rules differ from Virginia and Kentucky.
-
Contacting Pearson, or sitting a Kentucky sales-associate exam, for a Tennessee score
Tennessee real estate exams are given by PSI under bulletin 511 at $63. TREC staff enter out-of-state candidates.
-
Trying to retake the next day after a second fail
Per the bulletin, after the second attempt you must wait 30 days. After a first fail, you can retake right away (scheduling opens the next day).
Reciprocity and recognition
| Partner / path | Accepted exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| No formal bilateral reciprocity is published for this credential. | ||
Per the bulletin, candidates currently licensed in another jurisdiction seeking a Tennessee resident license MUST meet the same educational criteria as residents. Nonresidents must affiliate with a Tennessee-licensed firm and a TN-licensed principal broker. Before making an examination reservation, send course certificates, license certifications from each state, proof of a national testing-company exam if requesting a waiver of the national section, and a completed Worksheet A. Per TREC's PSI page, Commission staff enter out-of-state candidates into PSI after a CORE request ([email protected]), so do not assume the school can post you. TREC's Worksheet A requires 90 hours, including at least 30 hours of principles, the 30-hour CNA (Course for New Affiliates), and the remaining 30 hours in electives accepted by the resident state, plus a passing score of 70% on the Tennessee-law section. A Kentucky salesperson certificate is not an affiliate-broker license.
Renewal and staying active
Per TREC's Education Courses page, CE Broker FAQs, and broker-renewal support article: 16 hours per two-year renewal — the 6-hour mandatory TREC CORE course plus 10 elective hours. Instructors submit hours to CE Broker; sponsors have 10 working days to upload. Pre-license courses shall not be used for CE. TREC Core is mandatory to renew; NAR Code of Ethics is a local-board requirement, not a TREC one. In retired status, the 16 hours are not required to renew, but they are required to return to active (TREC 1 form, $25 status change, current E&O, firm affiliation). Renew through CORE (core.tn.gov).
Late renewal: TREC Fees page: Late Renewal $50/month first 120 days, $100/month 121 to 365 days. CE penalty $50/month. After one year, retest and reapply. TREC support articles describe a 60-day expired grace period. Check CORE before paying a reinstatement amount quoted by a third party.
Transfer $25. Retired to active $25. E&O lapse penalty minimum $200. License history $25. Check TREC's Fees page for current amounts. Timeshare renewal is a separate $500 fee.
Applicant checklist
- 60-hour TREC-approved principles/fundamentals course (the school posts PSI eligibility)
- PSI exam, $63: 80 questions in 160 minutes (pass 56) and 40 in 80 minutes (pass 28), or $37 / $26 by portion; a passed portion stays valid for two retakes or one year
- 30-hour Course for New Affiliates certificate before issuance
- IdentoGO 28TZ99 / ORI TN920784Z, E&O, Principal Broker signature, proof of high school graduation
- CORE application within 12 months of the exam date, $91; then 16-hour CE (6-hour TREC CORE + 10 elective) and $75 each two-year cycle
How Tennessee is different
Kentucky licenses salespersons and requires 96 hours. Virginia licenses salespersons with a 60-hour Principles course and a 30-hour named post-license course in the first year (not before issuance). North Carolina licenses provisional brokers with 75 hours, then 90. Georgia licenses salespersons. Alabama sets the minimum age at 19. Tennessee licenses affiliate brokers: 60 hours of principles before PSI and the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before issuance. The PSI exam costs $63 (or $26 state / $37 national), with 80 questions in 160 minutes (pass 56) and 40 in 80 minutes (pass 28). You then pay $91 at CORE, fingerprint through IdentoGO (code 28TZ99), carry E&O, and apply within the one-year window in bulletin 511. After issuance, CE is 16 hours (6-hour TREC CORE + 10 elective).
Tennessee vs neighboring states
| Jurisdiction | License title | Pre-license hours | Exam vendor | Exam questions | Exam fee | Published state fees | Renewal cycle | Min. age |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee (this guide) | Affiliate Broker | 90 | PSI | 120 | $63 | $245 | 2 yr | 18 |
| Alabama | Salesperson | 60 | Pearson VUE | 120 | $73 | $368 | 2 yr | 19 |
| Arkansas | Salesperson | 60 | Pearson VUE | 110 | $75 | $211.25 | 1 yr | 18 |
| Georgia | Salesperson | 75 | PSI | 152 | See handbook | $340 | 4 yr | 18 |
| Kentucky | Sales Associate | 96 | PSI | 130 | $100 | $360 | 2 yr | 18 |
| Mississippi | Salesperson | 60 | PSI | 120 | $75 | $275 | 2 yr | 18 |
| Missouri | Salesperson | 72 | PSI | 140 | $52 | $192.50 | 2 yr | 18 |
| North Carolina | Provisional Broker | 75 | Pearson VUE | 140 | $63 | $273 | 1 yr | 18 |
| Virginia | Salesperson | 60 | PSI | 120 | $60 | $549 | 2 yr | 18 |
Hours are the pre-license total printed in each guide; states that count credits or named courses show “See guide.” Published state fees add the application, exam, initial-license, and fingerprint amounts the guide can cite — tuition is not included.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Tennessee issue a salesperson license?
- No. The official entry title is affiliate broker (TREC Affiliate Broker page), and CORE has no salesperson application. The broker license is a later step requiring 120 hours and 36 months.
- How many prelicense hours?
- Ninety total, split: 60 hours of principles/fundamentals before PSI, and the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates before issuance. Sources: TREC's Affiliate Broker page, T.C.A. §62-13-303(b)(2), Rule 1260-05-.03, and bulletin 511.
- What is the exam like?
- PSI gives the exam. Per bulletin 511: national 80 items (80 points) in 160 minutes, pass 56 (70%); state 40 items (40 points) in 80 minutes, pass 28 (70%). Full $63; national-only $37; state-only $26. TREC's PSI page lists the same fees and time limits. Some school flyers list $39, but that is not the Commission's fee.
- Is the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates after I get the license?
- No. TREC's Affiliate Broker page says to complete the 30 hours and include the certificate with your application, so it must be done before issuance. CE later is a separate 16 hours: the 6-hour TREC CORE course plus 10 electives, tracked in CE Broker.
- How long do I have to apply after passing?
- Bulletin 511 (Updated 7/1/2025, the version TREC's PSI page currently links) says to apply within one year of passing, and the application is valid 12 months from the exam date. TREC's Broker page uses the same one-year language; the Affiliate Broker page does not state a deadline. Older blogs that cite six months are out of date; this guide follows bulletin 511.
- Do I need E&O as an affiliate?
- Yes. Proof of an errors-and-omissions policy is a required CORE exhibit, separate from the Education and Recovery Account. TREC's Fees page sets the E&O lapse penalty at a minimum of $200. IdentoGO fingerprinting (code 28TZ99) is also a CORE exhibit and is not done at PSI.
- What CE applies after issuance?
- 16 hours per two-year renewal: the 6-hour TREC CORE course plus 10 elective hours, which the course sponsor reports to CE Broker (sponsors have 10 business days). Per TREC's Education Courses page, the TREC Core Course is mandatory to renew; Code of Ethics is a REALTOR®-board requirement, not a TREC one. You do not need the 16 hours to renew in retired status, but you do need them to return to active. Renewal is $75.
- Licensed in another state — do I still take the 90?
- The bulletin requires the same educational criteria as residents. Worksheet A requires 90 hours, including 30 principles, 30 CNA (Course for New Affiliates), and 30 electives accepted by your resident state, plus the Tennessee-law section at 70% if the national section is waived. TREC staff, not your school, enter out-of-state candidates into PSI, and a Kentucky salesperson certificate is not an affiliate-broker license.
- Where is the Commission and who gives the exam?
- The Commission is at 500 James Robertson Parkway, Nashville, TN 37243; (615) 741-2273; [email protected]. PSI gives the exam: (855) 340-3710, test-takers.psiexams.com/tnre. Fingerprints: IdentoGO (855) 266-2937, service code 28TZ99, ORI TN920784Z.
- Which Tennessee-specific topics are on the state exam?
- E&O as a licensing requirement, designated agency / facilitator / dual agency, team and internet advertising, gifts and prizes, trust-account timing, and the Education and Recovery Account. This material differs from Virginia's Principles 60 and Kentucky's 96-hour sales-associate course.
- If I fail twice, can I retake the next day?
- No. Per the bulletin, after the first fail you may retake as soon as you want (scheduling opens the next day). After the second attempt, you must wait 30 days between subsequent failed exams. A passed portion still expires after two retakes or one year, whichever comes first.
- What does renewal cost if I am late?
- TREC's Fees page: $75 on time. Late renewal is $50/month for the first 120 days, then $100/month from day 121 to 365. The CE penalty is $50/month. TREC's broker-renewal support article describes a 60-day expired grace period; after one year, you must retest and reapply.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- TREC Affiliate Broker Licensure (60 principles then 30 CNA; CORE $91; IdentoGO 28TZ99 / ORI TN920784Z; E&O; Principal Broker signature)
- TREC PSI & Exam Information ($63 / $26 80 min / $37 160 min; two-retakes-or-one-year; links bulletin 511)
- PSI Tennessee CIB bulletin 511 (Updated 7/1/2025; 80/160 min pass 56 + 40/80 min pass 28; 90 hours; one-year apply; $63/$26/$37)
- TREC Fees (Initial Affiliate $91; renewal $75; late $50/$100 per month; E&O lapse min $200)
- TREC Broker Licensure (36/24 months; 120 hours including 30 Office/Broker Management; post-120; one-year apply)
- PSI Tennessee Real Estate (schedule)
- Tennessee CORE
Verified 2026-09-02 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-01
Update history
- Rewrote the guide text for readability and added state comparison tables. No requirements, fees, or deadlines changed.
- Requirements, fees, and deadlines checked against the primary sources cited on this page.
Spotted something out of date? Send a correction.