Skip to content
RE License Guide

Wyoming real estate licensing

Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson License requirements

A practical, source-checked guide to qualifying, passing the exam, applying, and keeping this license active.

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor  ·  Verified  ·  RE License Guide Editorial Desk

Source checked 8 official references Next review 2026-12-01
Required education
Named Salesperson I + Salesperson II + Wyoming Law (WREC obtain-a-license page does not print a combined clock-hour total)
Exam fee
$80
Published fees
$80–$90
Typical timeline
Three named courses plus Pearson plus a 90-day filing deadline
01

What to know first

Wyoming still uses the title salesperson. That sets it apart from Colorado, which abolished the title and starts everyone as an associate broker after 168 named hours, and from South Dakota, which starts everyone as a broker associate after 116 hours. The Wyoming Real Estate Commission's obtain-a-license page lists seven steps for first-time salesperson applicants, and three of them are named courses: Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law. The page does not publish a combined clock-hour total; figures such as 80, 68, or 54 hours come from other sources. WREC's published path is the three named courses from a Commission-approved provider (Colibri, Willoughby Seminars, The CE Shop, Wyoming Real Estate Institute, Wyoming Real Estate School). Out-of-state salespersons skip Salesperson I but still take Wyoming Law and Salesperson II and still sit the Wyoming state exam. Colorado FA licensees are treated as salespersons in Wyoming and follow that same out-of-state list. A Colorado associate-broker transcript will not count as Salesperson I.

Pearson VUE handbook #095100 (July 2024, rev 04/2025; pearsonvue.com/us/en/wy/realestate.html; (866) 600-5442) governs the exam. National: 80 scored items plus 5 pretest, 2.5 hours, $80 at a test center / $90 OnVUE. State: 40 scored items for salesperson plus 5–10 pretest, 1.5 hours, $80 / $90. You need a scaled 75 on each portion (on a 0–100 scale set by the Commission with Pearson); numeric scores are reported only to candidates who fail. The state outline (effective January 1, 2021, used for both salesperson and broker with different item ranges) covers Commission powers 2–5; licensing 7–9 for salesperson; activities of licensees 15–17, including E&O; and additional topics 11–13, including the Real Estate Recovery and Education Fund. If you fail one portion, retake only that portion, but you must pass it within six months of the first passed portion or sit both again. There is a 24-hour wait before retaking. Walk-ins are not available, and you must reserve at least 24 hours ahead. Give 48 hours' notice to change or cancel without forfeiting the fee.

Fingerprints are the first step on the Commission's seven-step list. Mail two cards and a $39 certified check or money order payable to the Attorney General to the Commission before or with your license application; Wyoming does not use an IdentoGO walk-in code or Utah-style Live Scan. After you pass both portions, you have 90 days from the later exam date to submit the application, score reports, course certificates, a recent close-up photograph, proof of E&O, proof of legal residence (birth certificate and driver's license, or a passport), license histories from every other state, a Service of Process form if you are a nonresident, and $300. Chapter 2 of the Commission rules also lists a $20 Recovery and Education Fund fee (W.S. 33-28-201(b)). Some supporting documents are valid for only six months. If you miss the 90-day deadline, your exam results are void.

02

Your path to the license

Follow these steps in order. Deadlines and affiliation requirements can make a passed exam unusable if they are missed.

  1. Two fingerprint cards + $39 to the Attorney General (often before class)

    The Commission lists fingerprints as step 1. Wyoming does not use IdentoGO. Cards go to the Commission, not Pearson.

  2. Salesperson I, Salesperson II, Wyoming Law

    Named Commission courses. Out-of-state applicants (including Colorado FA licensees) take Law + II only. Coursework must be within one year of application. WREC does not publish a combined hour total.

  3. Pearson $80/$90 per portion: national (80 items / 2.5 hr) and state (40 items / 1.5 hr), scaled 75

    A passed portion is valid for only 6 months while you retake the other. Then you have 90 days to file. Test in Casper / Cheyenne / Laramie / Gillette / Sheridan or online via OnVUE. Wyoming does not use PSI.

  4. $300 application + E&O + photo + residence proof + histories within 90 days

    Email or fax is preferred for everything except the fingerprint cards ([email protected]; fax 307-777-3796). Chapter 2 also lists a $20 Recovery and Education Fund fee. If you miss 90 days, your exam results are void.

03

Education and eligibility

Minimum age
18 years old
Identification
A Social Security number is required. An ITIN is not confirmed as a substitute.
Residency and identification
You must reach the age of majority before sitting the exam (handbook A.1). Wyoming residency is not required. Out-of-state applicants need an active license, two fingerprint cards, Wyoming Law, Salesperson II, the Wyoming state exam, and an application. A Colorado FA is treated as a salesperson in Wyoming and follows that same list. Nonresidents file an Irrevocable Consent to Service of Process form. Military service members and spouses can use the W.S. 33-1-117 expedited path (33-1-116 was repealed in 2025, though the handbook still cites both; follow WREC's current military instructions). Chapter 1 § 1-3(a)(vii) requires coursework within one year prior to the date of application. Course I (state and national portions) may be challenged by passing the approved course examination in lieu of clock hours.
Qualifying education
First-time applicants (per WREC's obtain-a-license page): complete and pass Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law, then both Pearson portions. Out-of-state applicants: Wyoming Law + Salesperson II, then the state portion only. Chapter 1 § 1-3(a)(vii) requires evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of application, all necessary Commission-approved coursework. Original applicants show Salesperson Course I (state and national portions) and Salesperson Course II; active out-of-state applicants show Course I (state portion only) and Course II. Course I may be challenged by passing the approved course examination in lieu of actual clock hours. Neither WREC's page nor the Pearson handbook publishes a combined hour total for the three named courses, so totals such as 80, 68, or 54 in school catalogs are not official. Confirm hours with an approved provider listed on the Commission page: Colibri (online: I, II, Law, Broker Management); Steve Willoughby Seminars (in-person / online / synchronous: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law, Broker Management); The CE Shop (online: I, II, Law); Wyoming Real Estate Institute (in-person / online / synchronous: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law, Broker Management); Wyoming Real Estate School (online / classroom by request: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law). A Colorado 168-hour associate-broker certificate is not Salesperson I.
Education or filing deadline
Chapter 1 requires coursework within one year prior to application. For Pearson, a failed portion must be passed within 6 months of the first passed portion. Then file the complete application within 90 days of the later exam date. Some supporting documents are valid for only 6 months.
Character review
Provide a license history from every state where you now hold or have ever held a real estate license, and disclose everything. The Commission and DCI/FBI review your two-card packet. Under Chapter 1 § 1-3(d), a prior felony conviction may be considered twelve months after all sentencing/parole/probation requirements have been completed.
Background process
Two fingerprint cards plus $39 to the Attorney General, mailed to the Commission before or with the application. Wyoming does not use IdentoGO.
Experience
No licensed experience is required for salesperson, but you must be affiliated with a responsible broker to practice. To upgrade to associate broker (Chapter 1 § 1-3(b)), you must have been actively engaged as a licensee for two of the four years immediately preceding the application, or hold a degree in real estate as defined in W.S. 33-28-102(b)(xiv). Responsible broker adds two of four years as a salesperson or associate broker plus Wyoming Broker Management.
Broker affiliation
A salesperson practices under a responsible broker, and you must be affiliated before performing any licensed activity. Responsible broker is a separate license (Broker I, Broker II, Wyoming Law, plus Wyoming Broker Management). Under Chapter 1 § 1-3(c), responsible-broker applicants must meet the associate-broker requirements, show two of the last four years of active engagement as a salesperson or associate broker (or equivalent credential), provide Wyoming trust account(s) or funds-holder agreement(s), and submit a Commission-approved broker-management course. Handbook B.3 lists that management course as 8 hours within one year immediately preceding receipt of the application, while Chapter 1 § 1-3(c)(iv) says “no more than two (2) years prior.” Follow the stricter instruction on the application you file.

Documents to prepare

  • Salesperson I, Salesperson II, Wyoming Law certificates (or WY Law + II if out-of-state)
  • Pearson national (80 items / 2.5 hr) at scaled 75 and state (40 items / 1.5 hr) at scaled 75 (state only if out-of-state)
  • Two fingerprint cards + $39 to the Attorney General
  • $300 license fee within 90 days of the last exam
  • Photo, legal-residence proof, E&O, license histories, Service of Process if nonresident
04

The licensing exam

Source: Pearson VUE Wyoming Real Estate Candidate Handbook #095100 (July 2024, rev 04/2025); pearsonvue.com/us/en/wy/realestate.html; (866) 600-5442. National: 80 scored + 5 pretest items, 2.5 hours, $80 test center / $90 OnVUE, scaled 75. State (salesperson): 40 scored + 5–10 pretest items, 1.5 hours, $80 / $90, scaled 75. State outline effective Jan 1, 2021: I Commission powers 2–5 (investigations, hearings, sanctions, examination of records); II licensing 7–9 salesperson / 4–6 broker (requirements, activities requiring a license, renewal, CE, change in status including inactive vs active and cancellation); III activities of licensees 15–17 salesperson / 14–16 broker (advertising, broker/salesperson relationship including transfers and designated licensees, compensation, disclosure of conflict / property / agency, duties owed as agent / intermediary / customer, documents, monies, listings, E&O, disciplinary grounds); IV additional topics 11–13 (Recovery and Education Fund, land description, landlord/tenant, foreclosure and redemption, statute of frauds, BPOs); V broker-only 14–16 (company management, trust accounts, funds-holder agreements, place of business, recordkeeping, supervision of branch offices and multiple companies). If you fail one portion, pass it within 6 months of the first pass or sit both again. There is a 24-hour wait before retaking. Apply within 90 days of the later pass. Active out-of-state licensees sit the state portion only, after Wyoming Law + Salesperson II. National salesperson outline effective April 1, 2025: I real property 11; II ownership/transfer 9; III value/appraisal 11; IV contracts/agency 16; V practice 10 (Fair Housing 3); VI disclosures/environment 9; VII financing/settlement 7; VIII math 7. Memorize 43,560 sq ft/acre and 5,280 feet/mile. Test centers include Casper Pearson Professional, Casper College, Cheyenne (Laramie County Community College), Evanston, Gillette, Laramie (UW), Mountain View, Rawlins, Riverton, Sheridan, and Torrington. OnVUE online testing is available; walk-ins are not.

Pearson VUE (pearsonvue.com/us/en/wy/realestate.html; (866) 600-5442). Handbook #095100 July 2024 / rev 04/2025. $80 test center / $90 OnVUE per portion. · Fee: $80

Part Questions Minutes Pass
Salesperson National 80 150 75%
Salesperson Wyoming state 40 90 75%
Scoring details from the candidate handbook
  • Salesperson National: 80 scored + 5 pretest; 2.5 hours; scaled 75 on a 0–100 scale (not a raw percent); $80 test center / $90 OnVUE. Outline effective April 1, 2025: 11+9+11+16+10+9+7+7
  • Salesperson Wyoming state: 40 scored + 5–10 pretest; 1.5 hours; scaled 75; $80 / $90. Outline effective Jan 1, 2021: Commission 2–5, licensing 7–9, licensee activities 15–17, additional topics 11–13 (includes Recovery and Education Fund)

There is a 24-hour wait. Retake only the failed portion, which must be passed within 6 months of the first passed portion or you sit both again. You then have 90 days from the later pass to file the $300 application. Give 48 hours' notice to change/cancel without penalty. Walk-ins are not available; reserve at least 24 hours ahead. Payment is not accepted at the test center. Vouchers expire after 12 months (voucher-store.pearsonvue.com, clientCode=WYREL). OnVUE is available. If you cannot schedule within seven days after completing the pre-license course, call-center staff can open a seating escalation (not available for online reservations).

What to study

  • Named courses: Salesperson I, Salesperson II, Wyoming Law

    Commission-approved provider listed on realestate.wyo.gov

    WREC does not publish a combined hour total. Out-of-state applicants skip I. Colorado FA licensees still take Law + II + the state exam. Course I may be challenged by exam.

  • Pearson Wyoming handbook #095100 (July 2024 / rev 04/2025)

    Pearson VUE / WREC

    80/40 items, scaled 75, $80/$90, 6-month split-retake window, 90-day filing deadline, $39 prints, $300. National outline April 1, 2025. State outline January 1, 2021.

  • W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401 and Commission Ch. 1 / 2 / 4 / 5 / 7

    Wyoming Legislature / WREC

    State exam topics: Recovery and Education Fund, E&O, trust accounts, funds-holder agreements, intermediary vs agent vs customer.

  • Modern Real Estate Practice / Mastering Real Estate Principles (latest edition)

    Dearborn (on the Pearson national resource list)

    Contracts and agency (16 items) is the largest section of the 80-item national exam; math is 7. Memorize 43,560 and 5,280.

  • Wyoming Real Estate Recovery and Education Fund + Chapter 7 E&O

    WREC

    The Fund is a scored additional-topics item and a $20 Chapter 2 fee. E&O is a scored licensee-activities item and a required filing attachment.

05

Application costs

These are commission or testing-vendor amounts we can cite. School tuition and optional preparation products are private-market prices.

Fee Amount
Application$300
Examination$80
Initial license$300
Renewal (every 3 years)$350
Fingerprints / background check$39

Pearson handbook fee table: $80 test center / $90 OnVUE per portion ($160 at a center if you sit both). $39 Attorney General fingerprint fee. Chapter 2 fees (018-2 Wyo. Code R. § 2-1): original Broker/Salesperson license $300; original Company/Branch (except sole proprietorships) $300; three-year Broker/Salesperson renewal $350; three-year company/branch renewal $350; Recovery fund $20 (W.S. 33-28-201(b)); late renewal $75; transfer/active-status/name-change $30; group E&O admin $15; printed certified license history $10; paper processing $25; expedited two-business-day issuance $150 if everything, including fingerprint results, is complete. The application and initialLicense values here are the same $300 original fee, not two separate charges. Confirm current Chapter 2 fees with WREC rather than relying on school fee lists.

Published state fees

$719

Application, exam, initial-license, and fingerprint amounts cited above. Excludes school tuition, association dues, and MLS fees.

Estimate your full cost →
Commission

Wyoming Real Estate Commission

(307) 777-7141

W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401 (Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons); WREC Regular Administrative Rules Ch. 1 (licensing), Ch. 2 (fees), Ch. 4 (renewals/education), Ch. 7 (E&O); Pearson VUE Wyoming Real Estate Candidate Handbook #095100 (July 2024, rev 04/2025).

Pre-licensing

Named Salesperson I + Salesperson II + Wyoming Law (WREC obtain-a-license page does not print a combined clock-hour total)

First-time applicants (per WREC's obtain-a-license page): complete and pass Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law, then both Pearson portions. Out-of-state applicants: Wyoming Law + Salesperson II, then the state portion only. Chapter 1 § 1-3(a)(vii) requires evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of application, all necessary Commission-approved coursework. Original applicants show Salesperson Course I (state and national portions) and Salesperson Course II; active out-of-state applicants show Course I (state portion only) and Course II. Course I may be challenged by passing the approved course examination in lieu of actual clock hours. Neither WREC's page nor the Pearson handbook publishes a combined hour total for the three named courses, so totals such as 80, 68, or 54 in school catalogs are not official. Confirm hours with an approved provider listed on the Commission page: Colibri (online: I, II, Law, Broker Management); Steve Willoughby Seminars (in-person / online / synchronous: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law, Broker Management); The CE Shop (online: I, II, Law); Wyoming Real Estate Institute (in-person / online / synchronous: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law, Broker Management); Wyoming Real Estate School (online / classroom by request: I, II, Broker I, Broker II, Law). A Colorado 168-hour associate-broker certificate is not Salesperson I.

Chapter 1 requires coursework within one year prior to application. For Pearson, a failed portion must be passed within 6 months of the first passed portion. Then file the complete application within 90 days of the later exam date. Some supporting documents are valid for only 6 months.

Sponsoring broker

A salesperson practices under a responsible broker, and you must be affiliated before performing any licensed activity. Responsible broker is a separate license (Broker I, Broker II, Wyoming Law, plus Wyoming Broker Management). Under Chapter 1 § 1-3(c), responsible-broker applicants must meet the associate-broker requirements, show two of the last four years of active engagement as a salesperson or associate broker (or equivalent credential), provide Wyoming trust account(s) or funds-holder agreement(s), and submit a Commission-approved broker-management course. Handbook B.3 lists that management course as 8 hours within one year immediately preceding receipt of the application, while Chapter 1 § 1-3(c)(iv) says “no more than two (2) years prior.” Follow the stricter instruction on the application you file.

Fingerprints

Submit two fingerprint cards and a $39 certified check or money order payable to the Attorney General to the Commission before or at the same time as the license application (handbook A.3; WREC obtain-a-license step 1). Instructions are at realestate.wyo.gov under applications-and-forms (Mandatory Fingerprinting Information; Wyoming DCI Background Check FAQs; FBI Noncriminal Justice Applicant’s Privacy Rights). The Commission treats background results as part of the six-month validity period for supporting documents. A fingerprint packet from Colorado, Utah (IdentoGO), or South Dakota does not satisfy Wyoming's two-card requirement.

CE / renewal

Per WREC's CE page, salespersons need 45 total hours each three-year cycle. Associate brokers need 45. Responsible brokers need 53, including 8 Wyoming Broker Management hours. If you complete Broker Management as a salesperson, it counts toward elective hours. Inactive licensees need no CE, but the inactive license must still be renewed ($370 per the CE page) or it is canceled. Required and elective course lists are posted on the Commission CE page; Colorado's 24-hour CE mix does not apply.

Chapter 2: $75 late renewal fee. WREC's obtain-a-license page does not state a grace period. Historical rules used a December 31 expiration with a March 1 grace period; verify the current cycle in your manage-your-license account.

Recovery fund

The Wyoming Real Estate Recovery and Education Fund is both a scored additional-topics item on the state exam (11–13 items, shared with land description, landlord/tenant, foreclosure, statute of frauds, and BPOs) and a $20 fee in Chapter 2 (W.S. 33-28-201(b)). It is not E&O insurance. E&O is separately required in the $300 application package under W.S. 33-28-401 and Chapter 7 (Rice Insurance Services Center is the group-program vendor named on the forms page).

06

Mistakes that delay applicants

  • Treating Wyoming like Colorado and looking for an associate-broker-only course

    Wyoming still issues salesperson licenses. A Colorado FA is a salesperson here, not a broker. A 168-hour Colorado associate-broker transcript is not Salesperson I.

  • Assuming an 80-hour combined total from another source

    WREC's obtain-a-license page names three courses and does not publish a combined clock-hour total. Confirm hours with your provider.

  • Waiting until after the Pearson exam to mail the $39 cards

    The Commission lists fingerprints as step 1. Supporting documents can expire after 6 months, so the 90-day filing deadline and the six-month document validity can overlap.

  • Holding a passed national portion past 6 months

    The failed portion must be passed within 6 months of the first passed portion or you sit both again; then you have 90 days to file.

  • Paying for IdentoGO because Utah uses it

    Wyoming requires two blue cards and $39 to the Attorney General, mailed to the Commission. It does not use Pearson fingerprinting or a walk-in code.

  • Leaving E&O out of the $300 package

    Handbook A.4 lists proof of E&O with the application. It is also a scored state-outline topic. Rice is the named group vendor; confirm with WREC.

  • Reading scaled 75 as 75 of 80

    It is an equated 0–100 score. Passing candidates see "Pass"; failing candidates see a number. It is not Iowa’s 56/28 and not Alabama’s scaled 70.

  • Filing 91 days after the later pass

    The deadline is 90 days; if you miss it, your exam results are void. Coursework has a separate requirement: within one year before application.

  • Expecting a two-year birthday renewal cycle

    Wyoming salespersons renew every three years for $350, with 45 hours of CE. Responsible brokers need 53 hours, including 8 Broker Management. Inactive licenses must still be renewed or they are canceled.

  • Skipping the $20 Recovery and Education Fund because the obtain-a-license page did not itemize it

    Chapter 2 lists the $20 fee, and the state exam tests the fund. Confirm the current fees with WREC.

  • Showing up at Pearson as a walk-in

    Walk-ins are not available, and you must reserve at least 24 hours ahead. Arrive 30 minutes early with two unexpired signature IDs matching the legal name on the reservation.

07

Reciprocity and recognition

Partner / path Accepted exam Conditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity is published for this credential.

Wyoming has no named-partner reciprocity list. Per WREC's obtain-a-license page, out-of-state salespersons need an active license in another state, two fingerprint cards, Wyoming Law, Salesperson II, the Wyoming state exam, and an application. A Colorado FA is treated as a salesperson in Wyoming (Commission special note) and follows that same list. Military/spouse: W.S. 33-1-117. Nonresidents: Irrevocable Consent to Service of Process. Under Chapter 1, active out-of-state applicants show Course I (state portion only) plus Course II. A Colorado associate-broker certificate alone does not qualify you as a Wyoming salesperson.

08

Renewal and staying active

Per WREC's CE page, salespersons need 45 total hours each three-year cycle. Associate brokers need 45. Responsible brokers need 53, including 8 Wyoming Broker Management hours. If you complete Broker Management as a salesperson, it counts toward elective hours. Inactive licensees need no CE, but the inactive license must still be renewed ($370 per the CE page) or it is canceled. Required and elective course lists are posted on the Commission CE page; Colorado's 24-hour CE mix does not apply.

Late renewal: Chapter 2: $75 late renewal fee. WREC's obtain-a-license page does not state a grace period. Historical rules used a December 31 expiration with a March 1 grace period; verify the current cycle in your manage-your-license account.

E&O remains required. The $20 Recovery and Education Fund fee is listed in Chapter 2 for original licensing and renewal. Transfer / active-status / name-change: $30. Company change of address: $30 per license.

Applicant checklist

  • Age of majority before sitting; legal presence in the United States
  • Two fingerprint cards + $39 payable to the Attorney General
  • Salesperson I, Salesperson II, Wyoming Law (or Law + II if out-of-state) within one year of application
  • Pearson $80/$90: 80 national items / 2.5 hr and 40 state items / 1.5 hr at scaled 75; any failed portion passed within 6 months
  • $300 + E&O + photo + residence proof + histories (+ $20 Recovery Fund per Chapter 2) within 90 days of the last exam
  • Responsible-broker affiliation to practice
  • Calendar the three-year $350 renewal and 45-hour CE
09

How Wyoming is different

Colorado has no salesperson title and requires 168 named hours for associate broker; a Colorado FA is treated as a Wyoming salesperson. South Dakota has no original salesperson license and requires 116 hours for broker associate. Utah licenses sales agents and uses IdentoGO fingerprinting. Montana requires 70 hours and a $95 Pearson exam, with 75% on the 80- and 40-item portions. Nebraska requires 180 hours. Wyoming keeps the salesperson title and requires three named courses (WREC does not publish a combined hour total), a $80-per-portion Pearson exam at scaled 75, $39 Attorney General fingerprint processing, a $300 license fee filed within 90 days, E&O insurance, and a three-year $350 renewal with 45 hours of CE.

Wyoming vs neighboring states

Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson License compared with nearby states
Jurisdiction License title Pre-license hours Exam vendor Exam questions Exam fee Published state fees Renewal cycle Min. age
Wyoming (this guide) Salesperson See guide Pearson VUE 120 $80 $719 3 yr 18
Colorado Associate Broker 168 PSI 154 $49 $132 3 yr 18
Idaho Salesperson 90 Pearson VUE 120 $83 $353 2 yr 18
Montana Salesperson 70 Pearson VUE 120 $95 $255 1 yr 18
Nebraska Salesperson 96 Pearson VUE 130 $150 $415 2 yr 19
South Dakota Broker Associate 116 PSI 142 $98 $591.25 2 yr 18
Utah Sales Agent 120 Pearson VUE 130 $69 $355 2 yr 18

Hours are the pre-license total printed in each guide; states that count credits or named courses show “See guide.” Published state fees add the application, exam, initial-license, and fingerprint amounts the guide can cite — tuition is not included.

10

Frequently asked questions

Does Wyoming still issue a salesperson license?
Yes, after the named courses Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law. Colorado FA licensees are treated as salespersons in Wyoming. South Dakota and Colorado themselves do not use this title for entry-level licenses.
How many prelicense hours?
WREC's obtain-a-license page names Salesperson I, Salesperson II, and Wyoming Law but does not publish a combined clock-hour total, so the 80-hour figure some sources cite is not official. Chapter 1 names Course I (state and national portions) and Course II; Course I may be challenged by exam. Confirm hours with a Commission-listed provider.
What are the exam fee, length, and passing score?
Per Pearson handbook #095100: $80 test center / $90 OnVUE per portion. National: 80 scored + 5 pretest items, 2.5 hours, scaled 75. State: 40 scored + 5–10 pretest items, 1.5 hours, scaled 75. If you fail one portion, retake it within 6 months of the first pass.
How do fingerprints work?
Mail two cards plus a $39 certified check or money order payable to the Attorney General to the Commission. Wyoming does not use IdentoGO or Pearson fingerprinting. The Commission lists this as step 1.
How long after the exam to file?
90 days from the later passing date, with $300, E&O, photo, residence proof, and license histories. Some supporting documents expire after 6 months. Coursework must be within one year of application.
Is there a recovery fund?
Yes. Chapter 2 lists a $20 fee (W.S. 33-28-201(b)). It is also a scored additional-topics item on the state exam. It is not E&O insurance.
When do I renew?
Every three years. Chapter 2: $350 Broker/Salesperson renewal; $75 late fee. WREC's CE page: salespersons need 45 hours per three-year cycle. The CE page lists inactive renewal at $370; inactive licenses must still be renewed or they are canceled. The $350 Chapter 2 renewal and the $370 inactive figure are separate fees, so confirm the amount that applies to you.
What CE is required?
Per WREC's CE page: salespersons need 45 total hours each three-year cycle; associate brokers 45; responsible brokers 53, including 8 Wyoming Broker Management hours. Inactive licensees need no CE but must still renew. Broker Management taken as a salesperson counts toward electives.
Can I challenge Course I?
Yes. Under Chapter 1 § 1-3(a)(vii)(C), in lieu of actual clock hours for Salesperson Course I (state and national portions), you may pass the approved course examination and submit a valid Course I certificate. Course II cannot be challenged this way.
I have a Colorado license. How does it transfer?
A Colorado FA is treated as a salesperson in Wyoming. EA, IA, ER, EI, IR, or II licensees are treated as brokers in Wyoming. Both still take the named Wyoming courses and the Wyoming state exam. A Colorado associate-broker transcript does not count as Salesperson I.
Do I have to live in Wyoming?
No; WREC does not require residency. Nonresidents file an Irrevocable Consent to Service of Process. You still must affiliate with a responsible broker to practice.
OnVUE or test center?
Both are available: $80 at a center / $90 OnVUE per portion. Walk-ins are not accepted, and you must reserve at least 24 hours ahead. Test centers include Casper, Cheyenne, Laramie, Gillette, Sheridan, Riverton, Torrington, Evanston, Rawlins, and Mountain View.
What is scaled 75?
A 0–100 equated score. It is not 75 of 80 items and not a raw percent. Passing candidates see "Pass"; failing candidates see a numeric score and diagnostics.
Is E&O optional?
No. Handbook A.4 lists proof of E&O as part of the $300 application package (W.S. 33-28-401 / Chapter 7). Rice Insurance is the group-program vendor named on the forms page. E&O is also a scored licensee-activities item.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. WREC Obtain a License (named Salesperson I, II, Wyoming Law; Colorado FA = salesperson; approved providers)
  2. WREC Continuing Education (salesperson 45 hours / 3 years; associate broker 45; responsible broker 53 including 8 Broker Management; inactive renewal $370)
  3. WREC Applications and Forms (salesperson application; two-card fingerprint instructions; E&O / Rice)
  4. WREC Rules (Ch. 1 licensing, Ch. 2 fees, Ch. 4 education, Ch. 7 E&O); W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401
  5. Chapter 1 § 1-3 Qualification for a license (named Course I / II; one-year coursework; Course I challenge; 2-of-4 associate/responsible)
  6. Chapter 2 fees (original $300, 3-year renewal $350, recovery $20, late $75, expedite $150)
  7. Pearson VUE Wyoming Real Estate (handbook #095100, OnVUE, (866) 600-5442)
  8. Pearson VUE Wyoming handbook PDF #095100 (July 2024 / rev 04/2025; $80/$90; 80/40; scaled 75; $39 prints; $300; 90 days)

Verified 2026-09-02  ·  Next scheduled review 2026-12-01

Update history

  1. Rewrote the guide text for readability and added state comparison tables. No requirements, fees, or deadlines changed.
  2. Requirements, fees, and deadlines checked against the primary sources cited on this page.

Spotted something out of date? Send a correction.